* Disclaimer: OveReview is reader-supported. We earn commissions from qualifying purchases
Stanley 78 Duplex Rebate Plane 1 12 078

Stanley 78 Duplex Rebate Plane 1 12 078

Stanley 78 Duplex Rebate Plane 1 12 078
$ 93.90

Score By Feature

Based on 117 ratings
Accuracy
7.16
Value for money
7.28

OveReview Final Score

How Our Score Is Calculated

Product Description

This iron product is fine grey in color
Surfaces that have been precisely machined
Results that are precise
A depth of cut that can be adjusted
For cross grain work, cutting spurs are used

Questions & Answers

What is the material of the handle? Metal, wood, or plastic?

Casting is done so the plane can be made out of mine. There is a chance you will have to order it on Ebay because this is a newer model. If you want to get the wood handle like they used to make, you'll have to go to a dealer.

It can be used with a variety of blade sizes, right?

This is probably not a good idea. If you adjust the rabbit cut fence, that is how you can change the depth of the rabbit cut.

Selected User Reviews For Stanley 78 Duplex Rebate Plane 1 12 078

The image shows a product made in China, not England as it appears on the website
3/5

I received a plane today that did not look like the one in the A different marking is on the body of the plane, and a China-made label is attached to the box. Even at this price, what I got from China was not representative of the quality I thought I was buying. The body was cast so poorly that, when the blade is installed in line with the plane body as it should be, the left edge of the blade has an improper angle. One eighth of an inch hangs off the left side of the body. The poorly caste body of the plane forces the blade to be angled, if I force the blade flush to both sides of the plane As a result, the plane is rendered.

Shay Delgado
Shay Delgado
| Jun 15, 2021
I like this tool very much
5/5

The unit was delivered on time, and was usable immediately after receiving it. The shoe was nice and mildly cupped, but it was pretty close to perfection in the throat after flattening. It only took a few minutes to get ready and get.

Jayce Warner
Jayce Warner
| Aug 25, 2020
Missing part of the sentence
4/5

The package was well sealed when it arrived to me. However, there was no depth gauge! The order arrived on time. Providing a replacement will take quite a bit of time and on top of that the tax will be high. The rebate plane is a good product, but better quality control is needed to ensure that the customer has received the right product. So far I am satisfied with the rebate plane except for the missing part.

Richard Strong
Richard Strong
| Feb 22, 2021
The rebate will be processed quickly
5/5

The rebate is clean and crisp. Getting results that are comparable to a router is much faster than setting one up.

Richard Jacobson
Richard Jacobson
| Sep 10, 2020
I think this plane can be improved with a little tuning
5/5

Having it tuned up made this rebate plane work as good as new. sole of the sole had to be flattened and the plane iron and cutter had to be.

Kallie Clay
Kallie Clay
| Jun 26, 2021
It makes sense
4/5

It's a hit with Hubby.

Anne Duncan
Anne Duncan
| Aug 30, 2020
A waste of time and money when it comes In case you are not prepared to put hours of work into repairing this plane, it will be of no use to you
3/5

Upon entering the cutter into the plane, I noticed that the blade is badly skewed on one side. The blade should be square so that when you cut a rebate, the edge conforms to the side of the plane and you get a neat 90-degree When you cut a rebate with a skewed blade, you are unlikely to achieve a square cut. However, I honed and sharpened the blade, then tried to make a shaving with it. On a scrap of wood, the plane went from no shavings to hogging off too much shaving and jamming up the mouth as the length of the wood went. Flatness of the sole is one of the main possible causes of this issue. On a granite block, I used a Sharpee to scribe some lines on the sole of the plane and rubbed the sole across some abrasive of a 60 grit. No Sharpee lines remained on the mouth of the plane only the sole and heel of the plane wore off. The 60 grit was applied again to the sole in an attempt to flatten it. On the other hand, I went a step further by The same result occurs the mouth of the plane has a valley. It is at this point that I must decide whether to throw it out, or continue to flatten. It was finally in a decent state when I received it. The flattening process was continued by increasing the wet/dry grit until stopping at 1,500 grit. After I put a coat of wax on it, I buffed it. The rebate was cut a second time. The result was better this time around, however, because the cutter was not straight enough to maintain a good 90 degree rebate. I also had to back file the angle with a shoulder plane afterward. A replacement iron older than me that I bought on eBay was the replacement of a 78 iron that I decided to buy on eBay. Over the entire length of the rebate, lovely, fine shavings of one thousandth of a millimeter. I heard that nice "whisk" noise that comes from a well-sharpened and well-set blade. The tool is now of high quality. It wouldn't have cost me as much to buy an old used machine and not this one if I had known at the time what it would take to fix it up. It cost me an additional $25 to replace the cutter, and I probably spent three hours repairing Had I had more money at the time, I would have bought Veritas' much more expensive plane because I would have felt happy Ideally, if you buy this, sharpen the blade and try to cut a rebate. Be aware that your inability to cut a decent rebate has nothing to do with your abilities. There was a mass exodus of people The product is a pile of crap with little to no quality assurance.

Talon Hunt
Talon Hunt
| Mar 15, 2021
Tools that are appropriate for the task
5/5

This is an essential tool in your toolbox that you won't regret.

Cheyenne COATES
Cheyenne COATES
| Oct 16, 2020

Related Products For Stanley 78 Duplex Rebate Plane 1 12 078