* Disclaimer: OveReview is reader-supported. We earn commissions from qualifying purchases
Berkley Clip-on Line Counter Berkley Clip-on Line Counter Berkley Clip-on Line Counter

Berkley Clip-on Line Counter

Berkley Clip-on Line Counter Berkley Clip-on Line Counter Berkley Clip-on Line Counter
$ 17.83

Score By Feature

Based on 883 ratings
Easy to use
6.26
Accuracy
5.69
Value for money
4.94

OveReview Final Score

How Our Score Is Calculated

Questions & Answers

Are you able to use steel trolling line with this?

If it doesn't work, you can always return it. I don't see why it wouldn't work line by line. In my mind, I cannot really think of a reason to come back. You should proceed carefully to avoid wearing out any of the parts too soon because it is wire. In a little over 3000 yards, my belt hasn't shown any signs of wear. There are 15 reels I still need to reline. I would suggest that in order to catch Mr. Bass, Mr. Bluegil, or Mr. Catfish, you need a reel with Bite Alert. Try Zebco 33 with Bite Alert for sure. It is convenient to have a light that blinks red and an alarm. Just ask me if you have any questions about reels. I have 27 reels. Thanks for reading. I hope it helped. This is the Art.

Could you let me know if this works for snagging rods? How much braided line does 130 lb weigh?

A 130 lbs. person should be able to use it with no problem. An example braid would be.

Does anyone have experience measuring the length of tennis strings with this tool?

It sounds like a good idea to use it for, but I have never tried it?

Is it possible to set up the reel to tell me how much line has been loaded on to my reel when I rewind How do I pause the spooling?

It is absolutely true. I assume we're starting with an empty spool. Your rod should be clipped between the first guide and the reel in order to secure the counter. Reset the counter to zero. Your line should go down through the first guide, then be wound on to the reel through the counter. As you reel the replacement line onto your reel, keep your finger slightly pressed against the spool of line. As far as I am concerned, using the counter for this purpose is about all it will do because it is too lightweight to withstand the beating it would endure When my unit arrived, it did not come with a box After I had to take it apart and fix it, I was able to use it again.

Selected User Reviews For Berkley Clip-on Line Counter

The advantages and disadvantages of using a line counter Over the last 15 years, I have used this counter - Initially as a Shakespeare, then as a Berkley -- It is unclear what they were instructed to do - There has been no problem with any of them - I have had three so far After removing the side screw, back off the screw on the wall-*br>*br>I have used this counter for 15 years, first under the Shakespeare brand and then under Instructions did not come with any of them
5/5

In my 3 years of owning them, I have never had any problems. We have a counter out In the first step, pull out the screw on the right side (this screw measures the line) - In the second place Turn off the lever by pulling it out of the on position Your line needs to be placed The third step involves putting the lever in the on position. Pull the line downwards through the groove and tighten the side screw to the point at which the counter begins to rise - After the side screw has been fully turned, I give it one more full turn. Thanks for the info! I hope it helps!.

Karter Carney
Karter Carney
| Jul 11, 2020
You can measure the lengths of yarn easily with this device
5/5

The yardage meter on this counter is for my friends and me. This tool is easy to use and measures lengths of yarn, so you can see how much yarn you still have left to finish your project. It works great and is small enough to carry around.

Ray Pruitt
Ray Pruitt
| Sep 24, 2020
I find that this works for me
5/5

While I read all the negative reviews, I still decided to try it. As far as I can tell, the As it does not come with instructions, it took me a moment to figure out how to use it. The line measurment device is used backwards for measuring the amount of line that is on the Affixing it to the rod just above the first guide was easy. The Garcia 2 was all that was needed. I used a 0. 02 Villian rod, which is very thin and did not get stuck or come It came with an extra backer wheel for keeping the clip that holds it to the rod in place. The counter was accurate while I was spooling 15# fluorocarbon with minimal tension (I marked the first 10' of the line to verify the accuracy of the counter). There is no clear reason why others had bad experiences. It makes sense to me, so here's what I can say.

Hallie Alvarez
Hallie Alvarez
| May 25, 2021
I found it to be effective! Find out some tips in this article
4/5

I found it to be effective. As I measured a few yards and ran it through it measured the same length a number of My job was to get it to lock onto the rod but I couldn't. It is this knurled nut that has to be flipped out and it is THIS that tightens I should have known that. Additionally, a thick saltwater rod is also compatible with another knurled nut size. A reel with 20# and 30# braid! A reel with two reels! The line must enter the slot at the right angle! If it is too steep, it drags, if it is not enough, it will not Frequently, there are versions of this clamp that look similar. I used a Dibiao clamp to hold the spool. A system like that proves successful, but I do not believe it to be the sole solution. To find the right angle of entry and the right distance for the spool, we had to experiment a little. There was no indication of the direction of the measurement! If you want to count upward, either count in reverse or in up. I turned the unit over, however, and it was upside down. There was no need to try many different positions in my quest to achieve "just There was a consistent UP count. Using two reels, I spooled a fishing line. There was a test of my patience! I didn't expect it to work, but it did. My next project is to spool more reels with braid, so I will update this post or the wiki.

Donovan GODFREY
Donovan GODFREY
| Nov 19, 2020
Not at all
3/5

This is a pos that is prone to malfunction, so you are almost better off pulling the line out and counting the steps back than trusting what it says, even if it does indeed work. No sir, at first I thought the operator had made a mistake. I tried several times to get it to read but every time it would only read half of the time. That is very frustrating when trying to ensure that you do not However, it was not because of the braided line, it was because I was using a slick a$$ line, It was a long process and much frustration was had along the way, in which I was quickly reprimanded by the misses, before I was able to find this piece a new home. There is some hardware (you know what I meant to say), and it's at the bottom of the trash. It was actually more than worth the money to throw this thing in a can after all the frustration. It is hard for me to find a good or even a decent line counter. We had the same problems with another popular brand. Avoid the losses in money and sanity by staying away from it.

Kamari Ortega
Kamari Ortega
| Jun 01, 2021
As a first step, back off the As a first step, I'd like to point out that my 4 star rating was for the lack of instructions, which may be needed by some
5/5

I think that some of the reviews may have been negative because users did not back off the tension knob FIRST before inserting the line. They put the lever in ON mode (which locks in the line), then while pulling the line though, tighten the tension knob until the counter moved You want to tighten the knob 1 full turn more, as suggested in another review. After that, everything is working fine. Best of luck to you. This is an excellent tool at this price!.

Trace Morales
Trace Morales
| Feb 13, 2021
The event didn't last very Though I have read reviews about how bad it is, there are really no other options on the market that I am aware Then, for $10 I dive into it and am very gentle using it (counting the lines on my reel), I was winding it gently, and making marks every 300ft (100 yards)
3/5

After completing one reel, the machine ceased to work. My time machine got frozen in time. I opened it up and found that it was made up of cheap plastic gears! This will not last as long as I had envisioned, I tried to fix it but it could not be fixed once the plastic parts came loose. The internal parts could be made stronger, like metal, and I would be willing to pay more for it. It is unfortunate that the market does not offer anything at the moment.

Jayla Sexton
Jayla Sexton
| May 15, 2021
This does not work if you flatten out
3/5

However, no matter what I do, it does not appear that any lines are moving through As you look into the gap, there is nothing for the line to catch on to, or to rub against, or to do anything like that. As the line moves through only an air gap, how can movement even be measured? There is however a little metal piece on which the line can rest if it is not being pulled, and a second piece which keeps it from slipping out the top, but nothing that would serve to measure motion. It has already passed the return deadline. The following revisions have been made to the 1/21/2019 release In fact, I was about to toss the device into the trash, but I decided to fiddle with it one more time. Upon adjusting the right-hand screw, something went "clunk" inside the device and the previously mentioned air bubble appeared. In place of what looked like a gap, something that looked like it would make contact with the line while it made its way through was put in. The piece was not difficult to get back into the slot no matter how much tapping, screwing, or pounding I did. The conclusion is I was out of luck with mine.

Remington COATES
Remington COATES
| Jan 07, 2021

Related Products For Berkley Clip-on Line Counter