* Disclaimer: OveReview is reader-supported. We earn commissions from qualifying purchases
Crystal Blue

Crystal Blue "Powers of 2" BCD & Direct Binary Clock (Silver w/Blue LEDs)

Crystal Blue
$ 30.95

Score By Feature

Based on 326 ratings
Accuracy
9.69
Giftable
9.53
Brightness
9.30
Value for money
8.88

OveReview Final Score

How Our Score Is Calculated

Product Description

The BCD and the Direct Binary modes
There are two modes 12 hours and 24 hours
LEDs in Crystal Blue on a silver faceplate
The DIMM settings allow you to change the brightness of the LEDs to fit
Auxiliary frequency detection for automatic switching between 50Hz and 60Hz

Questions & Answers

Are you also using it to set an alarm?

The binary clock functions only as a timepiece. The alarm isn't set up and no speakers are available.

Could you please explain how you tell the time?

A binary counting system is used to represent the hours, minutes, and seconds on this clock. Left are the two columns for seconds right are the columns for minutes. Minutes are represented by the middle two columns, and hours by the left two. In addition, each of the sections (seconds, minutes, and hours) has two columns representing the ones and tens places in decimal format. The next binary position is indicated by the row that goes up In mathematical terms, 2*0, 2*1, 2*2 ("two square"), and 2*3 ("two cubed, "). In binary, every light that is lit up represents a 1 A binary number is made up of only two digits 0 and 1. In the far right column, if it is blank from top to bottom, "top-to-bottom" is shown You're not allowed The following numbers are in 0000 minus the following When you are at the bottom, you have exactly The following items are listed "0001, A light that is off is "0" and a light that is on is "1". In addition to the "tens" place light lighting up when the clock moves to 9, an additional place light will flash. Using the two columns on the far right, ten seconds should appear as follows The first digit of the year is "001". Taking the two right columns as an example, 35 seconds would appear as follows This is "101" and it is Minutes and hours are displayed the same way. This clock allows you to show time on a 24 hour cycle, so on the far left column there is an option to show time on the military time zone The time at 30PM is 2330 hours. *Viewing the seconds tick by and looking at the sequence above will best help you understand what is going on. There are no lights on when there are zeros. Just watch the lights tick by for a few minutes, and it will all start to make

What needs to be connected to it? Has it to be plugged in?

It is connected to a cord that you will need to plug into the wall if you wish to use it.

It looks like an alarm clock, doesn't it?

The alarm clock on this display doesn't go off

Selected User Reviews For Crystal Blue "Powers of 2" BCD & Direct Binary Clock (Silver w/Blue LEDs)

The Binary Clock is one of my favorite things in the world
5/5

This binary clock makes me so happy. My students always ask what this strange device with the blinking lights on my desk is when they come into my high school computer programming class. I can jump right into teaching binary numbers once the students are done guessing and I have told them that it is a clock. Even some of my advanced students have written computer programs to create their own binary clocks. This is a great little prop to add to my class.

Theo Chavez
Theo Chavez
| May 19, 2021
Initial results were good, but then the speed started to increase
3/5

The first time I had one was 10 years ago, when someone decided I need it more than they do. A couple of months ago, I decided to buy a new clock because I loved the old one so much. I bought this device about 3 months ago and it worked without problems for short periods of time. Then I noticed the time speeding up, meaning seconds, minutes, and hours went by at such a fast rate that I could not even read the time, nor was it accurate anymore. I've tried unplugging the power source for days/weeks, but the problem persists when I plug it back in. The magazine had to be thrown away because it was no longer usable.

Hallie Pearce
Hallie Pearce
| Sep 07, 2020
The Math Minded will absolutely love this game
5/5

I've finally broken down my 1975 binary clock [it had tens columns for the minutes and seconds, so it wasn't totally binary] - it broke down after more than 40 years in service. No light would come on, the setting mechanism failed, and no watch or clock company was willing to fix it. As a result, I wanted an accurate and stylish replacement. A clock like this one from Amazon seems to be the perfect fit. Though I'm still getting used to it after 45 years of watching the old one, it is still fascinating even after adjusting to 16 and 32 possibilities for the minutes and seconds. I highly recommend this purchase!.

Hugo Warren
Hugo Warren
| Apr 16, 2021
That was good, but that is not the case anymore
3/5

The last time I got this was I enjoyed it a lot! I've been tricked by my non-existent wisdom We have friends who are mathematicians. About three weeks ago, I noticed the time was off, and it did not make sense to be caused by a power failure, since that would have made it return to its original My watch is set correctly, but I didn't set the time. I noticed that time has been increasing at a rather rapid pace a week ago, perhaps two minutes a day It was suddenly three times normal time. Then, as suddenly as it started, it was back to normal time. Of course, now it was the other way around. Today, it is off again after being reset. That does not make me happy A pity that I can't return it within the allotted timeframe. The opposite of what you should do.

Theodora Hall
Theodora Hall
| Apr 09, 2021
one of the best clocks
5/5

I'm glad that a new solution has been found. one of the best clocks. The timer is a very clever way to tell the time. If you display it somewhere visitor can see it, you will receive MANY questions. The first question is, "What is that thing with the blue lights?"? Is it really a clock? ", someone asks. After that, I asked, "How do you do that?"? Once that is done, you will see a deer grazing Here is the This is the look of headlights. Since I don't want visitors to see it, I moved it to a room that no visitors see. I want to use it to tell time, not learn how to I bought a second one for my Whenever I use my first one, I keep it at the highest brightness. One of them is in the bedroom and is set at its lowest. As an example, I don't find the lowest setting to be bothersome at night as it is for others. Seeing it it will actually make my mind clear and ensure that I fall asleep faster if I am facing it when I am about to fall asleep. Also, I would like to add a "low" It is also true that listening to a "volume thunderstorm" via an app (available for almost any device) can add to the sleepiness effect, as well.

Santiago Thornton
Santiago Thornton
| May 19, 2021
My classroom will be enriched by this neat little tool
5/5

I am sure we all know that binary code is important in computing, Binary numbers can't be taught in the regular math class, because who has time for it? Because it's not "in the standards" of what we're expected to teach, no one knows. This little clock is not only a GREAT conversation piece but it is an amazing tool for teaching the fundamentals of base 2 as well. Though I just purchased this one, it is much like one I had in my classroom for several As a result of a few moves, it ended up in storage and stopped working. This blinking blue light will grab the attention of all onlookers! Every student wants to be the first to learn how to use.

Aleena Singh
Aleena Singh
| Dec 23, 2020
Color sent in the wrong place! However, the package said blue and silver, but I received a silver and blue one instead
5/5

Even though the wrong one was sent, I kept it because the black and red looked fine. I've had it for one month and haven't encountered any issues with it. It is actually possible to read the clock using two different modes. The one that requires more thinking will need more time to calculate the current time (which is what I've set it to). This gift definitely stands out from the rest.

Anaya Yates
Anaya Yates
| Dec 01, 2020
There's Nothing Like a Good Two-For-One You are timed
5/5

Nerds must have this. If you're not a nerd, but you want people to believe you are, you should purchase this. If you're not a nerd and don't want others to believe you are, you should not purchase this.

Kingston Stone
Kingston Stone
| Oct 26, 2020

Related Products For Crystal Blue "Powers of 2" BCD & Direct Binary Clock (Silver w/Blue LEDs)