* Disclaimer: OveReview is reader-supported. We earn commissions from qualifying purchases
Permatex 85120 Liquid Electrical Tape, 4 oz

Permatex 85120 Liquid Electrical Tape, 4 oz

Permatex 85120 Liquid Electrical Tape, 4 oz
$ 6.67

Score By Feature

Based on 278 ratings
Value for money
9.16
Satisfaction
9.00
Delivery
8.94
Customer service
8.86

OveReview Final Score

How Our Score Is Calculated

Product Description

Protective coating for electrical wires and connections in rough weather
When applied, it goes on as a liquid and dries into a
With a brush top applicator, there are no gaps in coverage
We suggest using it for the following applications ignition wires, underground wiring, outdoor fixtures, bilge pumps, terminal blocks, and exposed wires

Questions & Answers

What is the color of this transparent material?

There is nothing white about it. This is also stated in the item advertisement

What do you think of this?

A pretty soft material is left when the compound dries/cures that is easy to clean. You can probably use this if the purpose you're serving does not require movement or force. In my opinion, Dow- would be the best choice My experience with Corning silicone seals has included the use of them for the insulation of wiring on small engines.

In order to repair the thin shrink wrap on batteries, I need to find an appropriate repair service. To apply nail polish, I need about the thickness of it. ?

The thin consistency will enable it to be used straight from the can because it does not require thinning. There may even be a need for

Selected User Reviews For Permatex 85120 Liquid Electrical Tape, 4 oz

Tape is not needed since this is used instead
5/5
Walter Petersen
Walter Petersen
| Nov 20, 2020
To cover the caps on my deledded Intel CPU, I used this
3/5

To cover the caps of my delid Intel CPU, I used this. I want these liquid metal tims to set quickly so they don't short out.

Scarlett Dougherty
Scarlett Dougherty
| Sep 19, 2020
product, but you have to keep it liquid for it to work properly
3/5

My only problem with this product is that it is very liquid when you open it, but wait a month or two and it becomes too thick and useless, so I had to buy a new.

Abigail Larsen
Abigail Larsen
| Jul 11, 2020
There is too much runny liquid and the brush is too short
5/5

It is runnier You should be careful about the amount of makeup on the brush's stick since it goes on so runny that it runs off the stick if you apply while holding the brush sideways. I find this very frustrating. In order to prevent that, the material should be a bit thicker. The biggest complaint I have with things that have a brush in them is that the brush always doesn't reach the bottom of the can so you'll end up wasting 1/4" of the stuff unless you use a new brush which is a total waste. My first choice was this one, but if I try another brand next, I'll switch.

Elina Vargas
Elina Vargas
| Oct 11, 2020
The interface is simple and easy A personal opinion Permatex is reliable in every way
5/5

An electric connector in the engine bay came loose due to faulty taping. The cleaning with alcohol and applying of the electric tape in 4 coats was fast and trouble-free with no mess. I tested it before using it. It's strong, quick to dry, and much better than the.

Journey Barry
Journey Barry
| Jun 22, 2021
What have I done with it all my life? I do tons of 110v AC DIY fabrication, as well as lots of DC DIY Heat shrink and wire nuts are no longer necessary (except WAGO lever nuts)
3/5

It's a necessity to have Permatex Liquid Electrical Tape on hand! It has a very strong adhesion, is fluid, and will cover a large area in a single application. In general, it is quite messy to work with. In addition to cutting half the bristles, I sometimes use a notch in a chopstick to drip the liquid on it instead of the cap brush. The product dries pretty quickly, but you might not want to use it for applications where you're The second coat really adheres to the first coat, even on thick applications like the gap between wires and housings. Thick applications shrink a lot as they dry, but a thin coating will still adhere. - Go forth Using jo (pumice soap), you can remove it quickly and easily from your skin. The stuff I've been reading is awesome!.

Rowan Moyer
Rowan Moyer
| May 22, 2021
The scheme works well, but the thickening should be greater and the messier
3/5

A pair of outdoor Christmas lights that were cut in two places could be repaired with this. In reality, it smoothes out the surface, leaving a nice coating that is both flexible and water-resistant. In addition, it can be difficult to apply since it is soupy and messy. There must also be a period of time between coatings to allow the paint to dry. It looks like it could be used for other electrical applications as a replacement for electrical tape, but I do not think it can be used in tight spots as a quick solution because it is too messily applied.

Autumn Tran
Autumn Tran
| Apr 08, 2021
There is a lot of runny stuff in this
5/5

Having it on seems to be pretty awesome if you want to get the most out of it. It is only a matter of Your hands and forearms are usually covered in it despite the fact that you spend most of your time wiping it off.

Bodie Curry
Bodie Curry
| Mar 17, 2021

Related Products For Permatex 85120 Liquid Electrical Tape, 4 oz