* Disclaimer: OveReview is reader-supported. We earn commissions from qualifying purchases

Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9"x12" Wire Bound, 100 Sheets, White

Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9 Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9 Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9 Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9 Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9 Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9

Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9"x12" Wire Bound, 100 Sheets, White

$ 12.95

Score By Feature

Based on 23,931 ratings
For beginners
9.72
Giftable
9.49
Durability
9.08
Sturdiness
9.31
Light weight
9.13
For traveling
8.92

OveReview Final Score

How Our Score Is Calculated

Product Description

U.S. manufacturing is responsible for this product
Crafts, sewing, and arts and crafts are all involved in the product
A series of 400 The minimum weight is 60 lbs. An image 9x12 inches in size One hundred sheets of paper

Questions & Answers

Do you think this book has any nuance? Wish there was a gift option that would be well received by the family. ?

The pages are bare! I agree with all of them! There are 100 pieces of It may not be the best choice as a gift for family friends. However, there is still the problem. Is it not possible? If you want a family-friendly book, you can always cover the pages with black charcoal sketches.

Is it possible to bleed through these papers pads with pens?

The pen you use will determine whether the pages will bleed through or not. Therefore, anything that won't bleed through regular notebook paper won't A paint pen or a ballpoint pen would do that, but not most ballpoint pens.

Can you only draw well if you have good art skills?

Not at all! Drawing things you see in front of you, especially things you can see with your eyes, will help you become a better, more proficient artist. Personally, I prefer the sketch paper produced by Strathmore. My personal favorite thing about its texture and how it picks up pencil/ink is how it picks them up easily.

Are the watercolors good enough for this pad?

The type of paper you've chosen is not suitable for watercolors. If you want a book/pad with 140 lb. weight, you should look for one. The paper is watercolor. You might also want to look at the Mixed Media sketchbooks if the artist does not paint with too much moisture.

Selected User Reviews For Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9"x12" Wire Bound, 100 Sheets, White

Rather than the yellow cover 300 series, buy the yellow cover 300 series - I feel much better now
3/5

When I purchased this a year ago, I didn't have any previous experience with this The pages became yellower as the night went on, turning them to darkness and In addition, they are even worse than the old ones. I am very surprised at how thin the paper is. I find it difficult to draw over the paper easily with a pencil. There is a tendency for paper to tear There's always something to contend with with the spiral. It is too small for me, and I am returning it for the Strathmore 300 series in this size.
That one has much better quality in every way. It would have been nice if the spirals were on the side of that one.

Kamiyah Hayes
Kamiyah Hayes
| Feb 19, 2021
It is a good quality sketchbook
4/5

In addition to doing its job, it also holds up well in the face of a lot of erasing. The taste is good enough for me to buy Remember to avoid heavy inking or water color pens as they tend to absorb more water than they need to.

Ella Harrington
Ella Harrington
| Jul 12, 2021
I really like this sketchbook
5/5

I have sketchbooks near me since the 1970s because I am a graphic designer. There are a few reasons why I appreciate this sketchbook. First of all, the quality of the paper is superb for pencil drawings. There are no bumps in the ride. I also like the wire binder which makes it easy to open and fold so I can use it as a pen holder.

Elena Wyatt
Elena Wyatt
| Jul 13, 2021
Are you a gumshoe? The gumspine sketch book is a great tool, but keep an eye out for gum sticking to it when you store it at the warehouse
3/5
Emersyn McGuire
Emersyn McGuire
| Jan 01, 2021
We bought Canson and Scratchmore art supplies (paper and accessories)
5/5

My drawings are made on paper that I buy on the internet. A paper I can hold and feel is what I am looking for Take it apart like a monkey would take a banana apart You can see the color of it. If you want to determine if this is the right paper for you, these are all essential considerations. Having said that. The paper I used for my signature is Canson. It is amazing. People who are shopping but do not know much about the paper* I do not know about what sort of paper works with pastels, charcoal (it is not my favorite medium), watercolor, etc. , but I do know what paper works best with graphite or colored pencils for portraits. We have concentrated on paper for the purpose of drawing in pencil for the purposes of this review. You'll notice that the pad indicates the weight in pounds -- pounds. Did you notice that it reads something like 65lbs or 100lbs? Drawing pads don't weigh 65 pounds, so this product will not be that heavy. In this case, we are talking about I consider 60lbs to be Sketch paper, and this is typically how much paper you're going to get for a Although I draw traditional realistic portraits, 60lb is not durable enough for all of the wear-and-tear I inevitably deal with During the period of my 12 hours drawing on it, my paper will suffer a lot of damage. To qualify as "finished", I need pieces weighing at least 80 pounds. It is great to have 80 pounds. I know it's not too thick, but it's not thin enough that it will wrinkle if I misplace my Additionally, 100lb paper is also very nice, so you may want to consider that. It is not necessary to get thick paper when buying paper that will be used for PRACTICE. As a suggestion, the best paper to use is about 60lb paper if copying is acceptable. If you need to finish more pieces, get 80 lb. The only disadvantage to thicker paper is that you tend to get less sheets per pad (almost 24 sheets rather than 100 sheets for something like 60lb), but if you want high-quality paper that is going to be still usable after the artwork is completed, it is worth the investment. The following is a comparison of the SKETCH and the VERSION. The Sketch paper traditionally used for drawing is thin- a thin sheet but considered invaluable in a draftsman's hands A stock piece of As you can imagine, drawing paper is usually thicker and sturdier because it's deemed more "fancy. ". A sketch book is for practice, and a drawing book is for the real thing. My opinion is that this is great stuff. The price of sketch paper is lower per sheet than drawing paper (usually), but it relies on the Starting artists should pick up one of each pad (drawing and sketch) approximately 12 inches tall, so they'll have enough room to explore a variety of creative techniques in the Sketch pad, then present them on a grander stage You should use at least 80 pounds of paper for drawing! The lowest type of paper I ever use for portraits is that. In regards to the Sketch paper. . . I'm not sure. You can do as you please. As I understand it, I use a 60lb paper, which is just fine, like copy paper. I find it interesting that VA and I are inseparable My favorite part of the books was the ending. I have been going through the New York Times Since the last book was published, lots of people have withdrawn their books. After that, I decided to purchase myself a birthday present, and I bought the Vampire Academy Graphic Novels 1 and 2. A beautiful adaptation of the story is evident in the illustrations and in the illustrations themselves. In particular, I love how Christian and Adrian (in the second book) are drawn. I saw they would look EXACTLY and exactly how I expected them to. If you're a VA fan in withdrawal, then these are a perfect addition to your bookshelf. Whether it's the BIG PAD or the SMARTPAD is up for debate. I have a question regarding the Litter Pad. Where to buy the right size of paper! It all depends on what kind of drawing you want to do, and what type of style you want to develop. From paper pads as small as 6x8 to larger than 24x18, I have them all. No matter what kind of paper you choose, it is completely up to you. I am being completely honest. Do the following if you would like to do large-scale You should definitely get a large pad if you like photos on a large scale. It's best if you want portraits to be about the size of an average copying paper (ABOUT), so 9x12 is great to buy (that's what I use If I may suggest something to you, I would recommend getting a spiral-bound pad. As a result, you no longer have to worry about pending pages or glued pages deteriorating Then sew it in or sew it up It is bound. The spirals allow me to flip through easily without fear of destroying the previous portrait. I never have to worry about wrecking a new portrait if I switch from one to another. GRIT/TEXTURE/GRAIN on some papers. There may be a few "pot holes" in the paper. With my graphite pencils, I draw on smooth paper with medium texture or smooth. TO USE THE RIGHT MEDIUM THAT WORKS FOR YOU, YOU NEED TO GET THE RIGHT TEXTURE. Be sure to read what type of paper the paper was designed for, since the paper is different and will react differently to your art-implements. Oh, that's the color of the paper. It is the color. For me, as long as it isn't stark like grey or pink, I don't care what the color is. The first paper I used was bleached white, and the second was just regular, colored paper that does not specify the color. In the end, if you're drawing for or with something, it will be up to you. *Note* Other items you ought to buy will depend on the type of drawing you do. *Note* Of course, the type of drawing you do will influence the tools you need to have. You might like these realistic portraits of people if you're interested in that kind of thing I advise you to stay away from the following websites Make sure you have a set of blending stumps - as many as you can afford! When drawing, these are the tools I rely on more than my pencil! The following is a translation - It is composed of white When you want things to appear completely white, like highlights, then this is absolutely essential. White pens are also used by some people, but I like charcoal better. The following is a translation - You are not a black person if you aren't If you're a charcoal type, but you still want a really black color, The General's Layout Extra Black No. 6 is the tool that I HIGHLY recommend. This pencil is the 555. The pencil has to be one of my favorites! The following is a translation - We have a large variety of erasers in different sizes. In order to get into small spaces easily, I have big pink ones, pencil erasers, kneaded erasers, and tiny mechanical erasers. The following is a translation - I also need some pencils, of course! When it comes to pencils, I don't particularly care what kind I use as long as I've got the old fashioned type you find in a school classroom. You can keep things simple, or, if you want to get fancy, you can buy some fine Prismacolor pencils or Derwent pencils (both are superb, expensive Try setting up a set of 12 in the Medium or Soft range. There is a possibility that the hard sets may not be too hard You will only need a few of those in the second half, particularly in the first half A range of 4H values. Unlike most pencils, 9H is exceptionally hard. Here's a guide to pencils In 9H and 10H Those with a H are hard, and those with a 9B to 9Z are soft The B pencil is a soft pencil. It seems to me that standard #2 (which is an HB) is the neutral There are several brands that I recommend. One I highly recommend is Canson. I love it. As well as Scratchmore, this is an amazing In addition to my Canson pad, I have a Scratchmore pad as well. For Scratchmore, I tend to buy books that have a brown cover with a portrait of a woman on the cover. The paper is very good. When it comes to Canson paper, I prefer the Recycled Drawing 80lb, but it's harder to find so there are quite a few other options that work excellently. My go-to pencils are the Generals' pencils because they are cheap and tend to work well. The General's Layout Extra Black Number is a MUST have item. A white charcoal pencil. Those of mine are just Generals brand.

A collection of blending stumps and some sandpaper to re-finish and clean mine The tips of the leaves begin to flatten as they grow. If you want to use this type of leather (I don't know its name, but it looks like it is golden when new), you can get those, too. The past few months I've been introduced to this neat tool when I purchased a set of blending stumps. My understanding is that tissues can also be used, as well as fingernails. I'm a sucker for erasers! Do not hesitate to buy as many as you can. It doesn't matter how big or small as long as they are kind of kneaded. I'm not a big fan of them myself, but go for it if you want! This is a good One of the ones I own sharpens three kinds of tools, and it's made by Faber-Castell (It is from Castell and is called the Blackberry Grip Trio Sharpener. ) do not recommend the use of mechanical sharpeners as they leave chips behind on the end of your pencil, and eat away too much of your expensive pencil sets way too fast. I use hand-held sharpeners, even if they are from the dollar store.

Priscilla HARTLEY
Priscilla HARTLEY
| Jul 02, 2021
This is one I return to again and again! I have tried several sketchbooks so far, and they have all disappointed me
5/5

There is too much wax on the paper or there is no tooth to it in general. Additionally, binded edges don't suit me as well as perforated edges do. Rather than gel pens or prisms (for inking or coloring), this paper is good to use for gel pens. This brand has been used by me for many years. I have found it to be cheap on amazon when compared to other shops.

Gianni Silva
Gianni Silva
| Jul 21, 2021
It was disappointing
3/5

This is not a disappointing product because of the quality of the paper, Strathmore is decent paper, and this sketchbook is intended just for drawing. In terms of paper quality, pencils are great, but anyone who wants to use a pen, marker, or watercolour should get a thicker gsm, since this paper is not designed to use them. This was disappointed because it was so poorly packaged for delivery that the pages have wavy lines at the top, bottom, and sides of the paper, some have been torn, and the inner page where the rings curve is bent so that when you open the book, the pages tear apart. I believe this was shipped in an envelope mailer, which is why the book looks so bent and dents everywhere. The sketchbook should be given five stars because I have purchased many of these from art stores and they are great, but the paper cannot be packed in such a fragile.

Gia Bradshaw
Gia Bradshaw
| Feb 26, 2021
Trying to learn how to draw and I'm enjoying A couple of books and pencils were bought as a gift on 2/26/14 to help me learn to draw
4/5

I have owned this sketch book since I was a kid. My sketch book has been of great help to me when practicing drawing. I have been tossing it in my bag for the past month or so, and the book has held up nicely. There is no problem writing on the pages and erasing is also no problem for me. A good amount of thickness is apparent on the pages. It is easy to remove the pages because they are perforated. It is very easy to see the light through the pages. My only real complaint is that there are no solid cons, but I will explain why I gave it a 4 star rating. A sketch book like this cost me about $9. For less than the price of these books, I have found books that are exactly the same. As a beginner, I have several blank books and a lot of notebooks, which are probably good enough to start with and only cost me about $2. This is my first time expressing myself as a beginner. These reviews are unlikely to have been read by experts. While I have said that the pages have a good thickness, some appear to bleed through. It is very possible that I am pushing myself too hard. Sometimes you can see pencil marks on the back of the next page, and sometimes you can see some faint lines. Even if the pages were a little thicker, this would not be a problem for my heavy hand. I think this will not be a problem for the majority of people,.

Ian Brandt
Ian Brandt
| May 08, 2021

Related Products For Strathmore 455-3, 400 Series Sketch Pad, 9"x12" Wire Bound, 100 Sheets, White